Two weeks after the presentation of the top favorite Yalemzerf Yehualaw (ETH) and other grandees in the women’s elite field, the men’s elite field for the Haspa Marathon Hamburg on April 24 is now also fixed.

Especially the winner of last year’s Berlin Marathon, Guye Adola (ETH) and his compatriot Tsegaye Mekonnen, who already crossed the finish line first in Hamburg in 2017 after 2:07:26, stand out here. Both have marathon best times of under 2:05 hours and are thus below the course record (2:05:30) of marathon superstar Eliud Kipchoge (KEN), which has been in force since 2013. The same applies with Kinde Atanaw (ETH, PB: 2:03:51), his compatriot Abebe Degefa (2:04:51) and the Kenyan Barselius Kipyego (2:04:48) for three other runners.

Top favorite Guye Adolas marked his personal best right from his 2017 marathon debut in Berlin, where he set out to win the race outright. He was only overtaken by Eliud Kipchoge two kilometers from the finish line and ultimately finished as close as he did sensationally in second place.

The race for victory in Hamburg in the spring of the same year was similarly close. Tsegaye Mekonnen and the 2012 Olympic champion, Stephen Kiprotich (UGA) were almost tied here until shortly before the end. Mekonnen literally distanced Kiprotich on the home stretch and won in the end by five seconds. Three years earlier, the Ethiopian had already caused a sensation when he won the Dubai Marathon as an 18-year-old in 2:04:32. This time is still considered the unofficial junior best in a marathon competition.

In total, a good 20,000 runners are expected to take part in the 36th edition of Germany’s largest spring marathon on April 24. These are distributed among the marathon (over 50%), half marathon and marathon relay (each about 25%) competitions. Online registration for the marathon and marathon relay is open until March 24. The half marathon is fully booked.

Zwei Wochen nach der Vorstellung der Top-Favoritin Yalemzerf Yehualaw (ETH) sowie weiterer Granden im Elitefeld der Frauen steht nun auch das Männer Elitefeld für den Haspa Marathon Hamburg am 24. April fest.

Insbesondere der Sieger des letztjährigen Berlin Marathons, Guye Adola (ETH) und sein Landsmann Tsegaye Mekonnen, der bereits 2017 in Hamburg als Erster nach 2:07:26 über die Ziellinie lief, stechen hier heraus. Beide weisen Marathon Bestzeiten von unter 2:05 Stunden auf und liegen damit unter dem seit 2013 geltenden Streckenrekord (2:05:30) von Marathon Superstar Eliud Kipchoge (KEN). Gleiches gilt mit Kinde Atanaw (ETH, PB: 2:03:51), dessen Landsmann Abebe Degefa (2:04:51) und dem Kenianer Barselius Kipyego (2:04:48) für drei weitere Läufer.

Der Top-Favorit Guye Adolas markierte seine persönliche Bestzeit gleich bei seinem Marathon Debüt im Jahr 2017 in Berlin, bei dem er sich anschickte, den Lauf auf Anhieb zu gewinnen. Erst zwei Kilometer vor dem Ziel wurde er von Eliud Kipchoge überholt und wurde schließlich ebenso knapp wie sensationell Zweiter.

Ähnlich knapp verlief im Frühjahr desselben Jahres das Rennen um den Sieg in Hamburg. Tsegaye Mekonnen und der 2012 Olympiasieger, Stephen Kiprotich (UGA) lagen hier bis kurz vor Schluss nahezu gleichauf. Mekonnen distanzierte Kiprotich buchstäblich auf der Zielgeraden und siegte am Ende mit fünf Sekunden Vorsprung. Drei Jahre zuvor hatte der Äthiopier bereits für Aufsehen gesorgt, als er als 18-Jähriger den Dubai Marathon in 2:04:32 gewann. Diese Zeit gilt bis heute als inoffizielle Junioren Bestmarke in einem Marathonwettbewerb.

Insgesamt werden am 24. April gut 20.000 Läuferinnen und Läufer zur 36. Ausgabe von Deutschlands größtem Frühjahrsmarathon erwartet. Diese verteilen sich auf die Wettbewerbe Marathon (über 50%), Halbmarathon und Marathon Staffel (jeweils etwa 25%). Die Online-Anmeldung für den Marathon und die Marathon Staffel ist noch bis 24. März geöffnet. Der Halbmarathon ist ausgebucht.